THE PROUD HISTORY OF A PREMIER GRAND CRU CLASSÉ
A very old wine-producing property of 36 hectares, Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey is located in the heart of the Sauternes region, on high ground just outside the village of Bommes.
Maisons Rouges (part of Lafaurie-Peyraguey) was a Roman staging post, and the oldest stones of the perimeter wall and the entrance, thought to be the most ancient structure in the commune of Bommes, date from the 13th century.
The wealth of relics and archive material preserved at the château bear witness to the rich heritage of Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey: eight centuries of history preserved!
IMPORTANT FIGURES IN THE HISTORY OF THE PROPERTY AND ITS WINE
1618: Sieur Peyraguey, the first known owner, a “rural bourgeois”
1742: Pierre de Pichard, a landowner in Bommes, consolidated the property, followed in the second half of the 18th century by his grandson, Nicolas Pierre de Pichard, the first President of the Parliament of Bordeaux (guillotined in 1794).
1796: Pierre Lafaurie turned the property into a “cru”, by investing in the wine’s quality.
1837: Pierre Lafaurie’s eldest son ensured the cru’s survival with its classification in 1855.
1865: Count Duchâtel purchased Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey, renovating and modernizing it.
1879: Farinel and Grédy, two Bordeaux wine merchants acquired the estate.
1917: Désiré Cordier, a wine merchant, became the owner of Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey.
1984: The Suez group undertook an ambitious renovation programme between 1998 and 2005.
2014:Silvio Denz becomes the owner of Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey.